logo-Brugge-Foundation

The beguinage

Kies uw taal | Choisissez votre langue | Choose your language | Scegliete la vostra lingua

BEGUINES... REVOLUTIONARY AND DARING WOMEN

The 12th century is one of religious rebirthSeveral new, also dissident, religious ideas and movements emerged possibly as a critical note against the clergy of the time. After all, clergymen did not always behave in a pious way and were very much aiming to live in wealth.

From the end of the 12th century onwards, some single women or widows sought a safe place to live close to a city. These pious women were looking for a simple life of prayer and work, the mulieres religiosae or beguines. The first beguines sometimes went far in their spiritual life and mystical ideas that were influenced by the great Christian thinkers. An important source of inspiration at that time is Marie of Oignies (1177-1213), a well-known mystic and perhaps a 'beguine'. The word 'beguine' appears for the first time around 1220 in a text by a Cistercian monk.

Beguines are not monastics nor nuns, they do not lose their economic independence at all, and can go back to their old secular life at any time. They are mainly active in the linen and handicraft industry, but also in the caretaking of the sick and orphans. Their revenues and the personal belongings they brought with them, make beguines financially independent. Over the centuries, they built up a considerable patrimony.

The beguinage is a highly structured community headed by a Grand mistress. She is assisted by six sub-mistresses and four councelors. A number of beguines are also given specific tasks with colourful Flemisch names.

The beguines actively practice their faith in their closed community of women. They are looking for a balance between a spiritual and active life. In addition to their economic activities, a strict rule of life determines their daily schedule of the spiritual moments. In the evening, after suns, the gates of the beguinage close up and a general silence sets in until the next morning

From the 15th century onwards, the emphasis in the Bruges beguinage shifts more and more to the strict practice of religious duties and choral singing, to the detriment of their active duties. As early as the 13th century, the beguines already have established a schola cantorum, whose young female students grace the religious services with choral singing. This schola cantorum is also a training school for new beguines. Their songs are collected in graduals, some of which have been preserved.

The beguines, their way of life and their own jurisdiction are regarded with suspicion by the community and local authorities because they emphasize their independence. Both secular and religious authorities try to impose growing control over their whereabouts and practices. Nevertheless, we can speak of an emancipatory women’s movement.

City plan of Bruges and surroundings, Marcus Gerards, 1562 © Bruges City Archives

DID YOU KNOW?

  • Around 1225, the first beguines appear in the city of Bruges. Soon they gather in beguinages. The Princely Beguinage De Wijngaard in Bruges was founded around 1242 by Margareth, Countess of Flanders. From 1245 on the Bruges beguinage is recognized as a parish and a parish priest is appointed as spiritual leader. He lives outside the beguinage.
  • The relationship with the ecclesiastical authorities is sometimes very tumultuous. In 1312, the beguine movement is banned by Pope Clement V. The local clergy stands up for them, but demands a greater supervision of their actions, which is done by appointing governors.
  • Between 1240 and 1565 there are 298 beguinages in Flanders. At that time, in Bruges we count eight beguinages at various places in the city. The beguinage De Wijngaard houses then approximately 450 beguines. This beguinage is the only remaining one.

AN EXCEPTIONAL ARCHITECTURAL ENSEMBLE

A secluded and safe place

The Bruges beguinage is erected outside the first walls of the city. For safety reasons it is almost completely walled or bordered by canals. Originally the size was larger than it is today (about 6 hectares) and extends between the neighbouring streets. Part of the adjacent place (Wijngaardplein) and its surroundings belong to the property. At the end of the 13th century, the bleaching meadows of the beguinage ran up to the second city walls.

Unity of style

Beguines possess their own private houses or live together in convents and infirmaries. This organization strongly determines what we see today: an open central courtyard dominated by the church and surrounded by spacious, white-painted houses from the late 16th, 17th and 18th centuries. Some even have older construction elements. All of them have private gardens.

The beguinage church, of which the oldest traces date back to 1245, is restored after the fire of 1584.

The interior upholstery dates mainly from the 17th and 18th centuries.

The main gate from 1776 is reached by the Wijngaardbrug. In the niche above the gateway thrones a statue of Saint Elisabeth of Hungary, patroness of the Bruges beguinage. When the nearby Minnewater Hospital is founded around 1890 on parts of the grounds of the beguinage, architect Louis Delacenserie builds new walls and realizes a second entrance gate near the lock house on the Minnewater (Love lake). In 1937, the house of the Grand Mistress and several adjacent houses were converted into a Benedictine monastery.

A unique urban settlement

Beguinages are important urban settlements in the city fabric. Generally, they form an architecturally homogeneous ensemble with houses, church, infirmary and sometimes also a bakery, farm and brewery. The Beguinage is cut off from the 'outside world' by walls and canals. Generally the residential buildings are arranged along a large green square or along streets.

Courtyard with beguinage church © Brugge Foundation Brugge

DID YOU KNOW?

  • The Bruges beguinage is called De Wijngaard. This name refers to the piece of land on which the beguinage was first built and was known as 'Vinea supra Roiam' (vineyard next to the river Reie). Whether there were ever vineyards here remains a matter of speculation. Or was Vinea just a lower, swampy piece of land?
  • The Sauve Garde, prominently displayed above the main entrance and referring to the high protection of the countesses of Flanders, means that those who want to escape the jurisdiction of the local authorities can ask for protection inside the beguinage walls.
  • Over the centuries, the beguinage has reduced in size, especially at the end of the 19th century due to the construction of the nearby Minnewater Hospital. It’s surface today is 3.37 ha; the settlement is still completely walled or bordered by canals today.

GREEN SPOT & PLACE OF BIODIVERSITY

Unlike monastery gardens, the courtyard of the beguinage is open to the public during day-time. The beguinage gates close between sunset and sunrise. The monastic community and the houses all have private gardens. The monastery garden consists of several garden types: an ornamental garden, a vegetable garden, an orchard and a secluded cloister garden.

The historic buildings and church, a variety of open spaces and gardens, the beguinage walls, valuable plants and trees all together form a unique landscape with great heritage value. From the 17th century on the central courtyard is planted with trees such as Canadian Poplar (Populus x canadensis), Common Ash (Fraxinus) and Lime trees (Tilia). Daffodils, wild orchids and many other wild flowers bloom in spring. An old cobblestone pavement frames the central green square.

In terms of biodiversity, the courtyard is exceptionally valuable due to the presence of these wild orchids (Spotted Orchid, Mountain Night Orchid, Large Beetle Orchid, Broad Wasp Orchid). A number of plant species are on the Flemish List of plants threatened with extinction. Some species are even protected by law.

Finally, the canals are of historical heritage value because they are prominent in the beguinage. They played a role as a natural boundary, but also as a cattle watering place and linen washing area. The adjacent garden grounds were mainly used as bleaching meadows.

The common helleborine is one of the wild orchid species that occur in the beguinage

DID YOU KNOW?

  • The beguinage measures up a 2.2 ha of green surface.
  • In 1918, the courtyard was badly damaged by a bomb. In 1928, the elms’ disease also made new planting of trees necessary.
  • ome plants have cute local names such as ‘Sweet Sweethearts’ (Lonicera japonica), ‘Blue Shamed Girls’ (Borago officinalis) or ‘Bedroom Happiness’ (Soleirolia soleirolii).
  • The daffodils in the courtyard were planted in1931 as a gift by Nursery Frederik Sander & Sun from Sint-Andries Brugge. In 1866 Henry Frederick Conrad Sander started a nursery in Saint- Albans near London. A branch office was installed in Sint-Andries Brugge in 1894 that grow quickly to a well-known nursery of mainly orchids.

THE 20TH-CENTURY REVIVAL PROGRAM

In 1789, after the French Revolution, the possessions of beguinage De Wijngaard were confiscated and transferred to the Commission for Civil Alms-houses (the current Social Security Services). The beguines were allowed to stay in their houses, but the beguinage could not accept new beguines. In1803 they were allowed to use the church again and in 1804 they were authorized to wear their habit again.

However, it turns out to be impossible to restore the former glory of De Wijngaard. In 1881, the Commission for Civil Alms-houses decides to establish a new hospital, the Minnewater Hospital, on an important piece of bleaching meadow of the beguinage. City architect Louis Delancenserie (1838-1909) designs the building in a characteristic Neo-Gothic style. A newly constructed street divides the hospital from the beguinage.

Pastoor Hoornaert

In 1922, only five Beguines still lived in a dilapidated beguinage. At that time, Rodolphe Hoornaert (1886-1969) is appointed parish priest and religious governor. He wants to save the seven-hundred-year-old beguinage of further deterioration. Moreover, he wants the life of the beguines to revive.

In August 1925 R. Hoornaert sets up a three-day festival to celebrate the 700th anniversary of the foundation of the beguinage. He wants to attract as many sponsors and as much money to be able to restore the beguinage.

However, Hoornaert does not succeed in reviving the beguine movement. With the support of the last Grand Misstress and a local Benedictine abbey, he founds a new congregation. In 1927 Les filles de Saint-Benoît from Nîmes (France) merge with the remaining beguines and, as a new congregation, adopt the Saint-Benedict's Rules of Life. Beguine and Grand Mistress Geneviève de Limon Triest (1874-1971) becomes the first prioress of the new community named Daughters of the Church. To preserve the tradition of the beguines, the nuns wear their traditional habit. Despite some growing pains, the new congregation has many vocations in France, Ireland, Scotland and later Switzerland, Hungary, Norway and the Netherlands. The international character of monastery De Wijngaard is eminent. The conversion of the house of the Grand Mistress and some beguine houses result in new monastery buildings. The building campaign takes place between 1926-1937, in a local architecture that is similar to the rest of the Beguinage.

100 years

Today, after almost hundred years, the number of nuns in the monastery is again declining and the religious presence in the beguinage is once again problematic. Some thirty remaining beguine houses are rented out to single women.

Despite a very high number of visitors strolling through the beguinage grounds silence and tranquillity remain prominent characteristics for the sense of the place.

The beguinage has been owned by the City of Bruges since 1972. Since this date on, the City has been responsible for the preservation and management of the built heritage and has launched successive restoration campaigns. Originally the Benedictine nuns received a long lease and were responsible for the day-to-day management and rental of the houses. That ground lease ran until 2035, but in 2020 was transferred to the City of Bruges, which is now responsible for all aspects of management of the site.

The four last Benedictine sisters of De Wijngaard priory, summer 2021 © Brugge Foundation Brugge

DID YOU KNOW?

  • In 1940 thirty Benedictine nuns lived in the beguinage. In 2024, there are only four nuns left, all of Swiss origin.
  • About thirty single women live in the former beguine houses around the church and the convent.
  • Nowadays a house of the beguinage is inhabited by a priest, unlike previous norms which did not allow male dwelling within het beguinage walls.

HERITAGE SITE OF HISTORICAL, CULTURAL AND INTANGIBLE VALUES

7-times protected

Since 1939, the Princely Beguinage De Wijngaard has been protected seven times by local heritage laws as listed landscape, monument and townscape. The beguinage is twice listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. (Flemish Beguinages, December 2nd 1998 – Historic City Center of Bruges, November 30th 2000

WHAT MAKES THE BRUGES BEGUINAGE SO UNIQUE?

The beguinage of Bruges is a well-preserved enclosed site with a distinct urban character in a typical, local style, and with mainly historic buildings such as the monastery, the former beguine houses and the church. It is also an exceptional, green enclave with a unique biodiversity.

The beguinage bears witness to 800 years of tradition as a city of women. It was established by a community of beguines: independent, religious women who combined an active life with spirituality. Even today, this settlement is a women's city. With the exception of the parish priest, only women live here. Their mutual objective is to respect the sense of place and to ensure mutual care and solidarity for one another.

The religious and cultural heritage, the historic values and traditions are a place of inspiration and meaningfulness for philosophers, writers, artists and visitors.

The beguinage remains an exceptional ‘silent spot’ in the lively city of Bruges.

THREATS AND CHALLENGES

Today the sense of the place is under pressure.

The uncertainty about a lasting religious presence is real. To a large extent the presence of nuns determines the character of a ‘silent spot’. The loss of this religious presence will also increase the pressure on the ‘city of women' as a socio-cultural phenomenon.

Over-tourism leads to increasing deterioration of the quietness of the place and to severe damage of the green biotope.

The preservation of the site as a legal, cultural and social ‘city of women’ with its traditions and characteristics is a challenge for the local community and politicians.

Sauve Garde

The conservation and restoration of the built heritage and green areas of the Bruges beguinage require continuous concern and financial efforts from the City Council.

The City Council, as a result of a wide investigation of Bruges residents, residents of the beguinage and various actors, is very much aware of the urgent need to carefully preserve not only the built heritage but even more the intangible values of the beguinage such as:

  • the habitation by a community of (mainly) women
  • the preservation of the site as a sheltered and silent space with its own rhythm
  • support for the caring and solidarity between residents
  • maintaining and enhancing entrepreneurship of textile crafts as a long tradition of the beguines
  • the preservation of the religious presence and spirituality, the traditions and the musical history

The City Council is setting out guidelines for the future management and development of the beguinage in a master plan.

The historic line above the principal gateway SAUVE GARDE stands as a symbol for all care and attention needed to realize a meaningful future for this UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Begijnhof 1

Begijnhof 1 is a typical 17th-century beguine house that was transformed in 1937-1939 into a museum of beguine life. The picturesque courtyard with a round brick well and surrounding cloister was built at that time. Currently in disuse, the aim of Brugge Foundation is to reactivate this house as a place of remembrance.

 

Brugge Foundation

By transforming this courtyard into an information garden, Brugge Foundation aims to highlight the history, the exceptional built heritage and the significance of the intangible values of this beguinage.

With this exhibition, Brugge Foundation wants to emphasize the ‘sense of place' and its material and intangible values. We hope to contribute to a better understanding of the beguine life and to a more intense and respectful visit of the Beguinage.

The Brugge Foundation is not only envisioning a significant future for this site, but it is also actively participating in it.

Donation by bank transfer

Make a donation to the Friends of Bruges Foundation via the King Baudouin Foundation.

Stort uw bedrag op rekening BE10 0000 0000 0404 (KBS) met de mededeling +++016/1760/00005+++  of scan de onderstaande QR code rechtstreeks in uw bankapp (niet via uw camera!).

Donation via PayConiq

Would you rather pay directly online? Deposit your donation via the PayConiq app!

Scan the QR code below via the PayConiq app.

Le paiement via PayConiq fonctionne également via KBS, vous êtes assuré d'un traitement correct et sécurisé.
 

With your financial support, the Brugge Foundation can further cherish and protect Bruges' heritage and give it a new future. Thanks to the Friends of Brugge Foundation, you can give online via the King Baudouin Foundation.

Every donation of at least €40 entitles you to a tax reduction of 45%

Check the detailed information on the pages of the documents and the receipts for the tax certificate.

logo-Brugge-Foundation

Le béguinage

Kies uw taal | Choisissez votre langue | Choose your language | Scegliete la vostra lingua

LA BEGUINE... FEMME REVOLUTIONNAIRE ET AUDACIEUSE

Le XIIe siècle est caractérisé par une relance religieuse et un regain de spiritualité.Plusieurs idées et mouvements religieux nouveaux, parfois dissidents . Phénomène résultant de critiques contre le clergé de l’époque? Après tout, il ne se comportait pas toujours de manière pieuse et recherchait plutôt la richesse.

À partir de la fin du 12e siècle, des femmes célibataires ou veuves cherchaient un endroit sécurisé à vivre à proximité d'une ville. Ces femmes pieuses recherchaient une vie simple et sécurisée, réconciliant prière et travail, les mulieres religiosae ou béguines. Influencées par les grands penseurs chrétiens les premières béguines allaient parfois loin dans leur quête spirituelle et leurs idées mystiques. Une source d'inspiration importante était Marie van Oignies (1177-1213), mystique réputée et béguine. Le mot ‘béguine‘ apparait pour la première fois vers 1220 dans un texte d'un moine cistercien.

Les béguines ne sont pas des religieuses. Elles ne perdent pas leur indépendance économique et peuvent à tout moment retourner à leur ancienne vie séculaire. Grâce à leur travail, principalement dans l'industrie textile mais aussi dans les infirmeries donnant soins aux malades et aux orphelins, et grâce à leurs moyens financiers personnels, les béguines sont financièrement indépendantes. Au fil des siècles, elles réalisent un patrimoine important au béguinage.

Le béguinage est une communauté très structurée dirigée par une Grande Dame. Au beguinage De Wijngaard la Grande Dame est assistée de six maîtresses et de quatre conseillers. A un certain nombre de béguines sont confiées des tâches spécifiques qui en Flamand portent des noms colorés tels que spindeniereghe, potvrouwe, zuveljoncwijf, maerctwijf, ...

Les béguines pratiquaient activement leur foi dans une communauté de femmes. Elles recherchent un équilibre entre une vie spirituelle et une vie active. En plus du travail, une règle de vie stricte détermine l'ordre du jour et les moments spirituels. Le soir, après le coucher du soleil, un silence absolu s'installe jusqu’à l’aube.

À partir du XVe siècle, les béguines portent de plus en plus d’importance à la pratique stricte de la religion et les offices de chœur, au détriment de leurs fonctions actives. Déjà au XIIIe siècle, les béguines avaient créé une schola cantorum, dont les filles-élèves honoraient les services religieux de chants choraux. Les cours de chant sont enseignés à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du béguinage. Cette schola cantorum est également une école de formation pour les nouvelles béguines. Leurs chants sont collectés par graduels, dont certains ont été préservés.

Les béguines, leur mode de vie et leur propre juridiction sont considérés avec suspicion par la communauté civile car elles prouvent d'une grande indépendance. En conséquence, elles tombent rapidement sous le contrôle des autorités religieuses et laïques. Néanmoins, on peut parler d'un mouvement émancipateur féminin.

Plan de la ville de Bruges et environs, Marcus Gerards, 1562 © Archives municipales de Bruges

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

  • Vers 1225, les premières béguines apparaissent dans la ville de Bruges. Bientôt, elles se rassemblent dans des enclos, nommé béguinages. Le béguinage princier De Wijngaard à Bruges a été fondé vers 1242 par Marguerite, comtesse de Flandre. À partir de 1245, ce béguinage est une paroisse reconnue et un curé est nommé chef spirituel. Il vit en dehors du béguinage.
  • Les relations entre les béguines et les autorités ecclésiastiques étaient parfois très tumultueuses. En 1312, le pape Clément V interdit le mouvement des béguines. Le clergé local les défendit, pour leur engagement envers les malades et les pauvres, mais exigea une plus grande supervision de leurs actions, ce qui se fit en nommant des commissaires.
  • Entre 1240 et 1565, il y a 298 béguinages en Flandre. Nous comptons au moins huit béguinages à Bruges à différents endroits de la ville. Le béguinage De Wijngaard compte environ 450 béguines à cette époque. Ce béguinage est le seul qui subsiste.

UN ENSEMBLE ARCHITECTURAL & URBAIN UNIQUE

Un lieu clos sécurisé

En 1242 le béguinage De Wijngaard s’installe à l'extérieur des premiers murs de la ville. Dès le départ, il est presque entièrement muré ou bordé de canaux. A l'origine sa superficie mesure environ 6 hectares et s'étend jusqu'aux rues avoisinantes. Une grande superficie de la Wijngaardplein et de ses environs (l’actuel parc Minnewater) en font également partie. À la fin du XIIIe siècle, les champs de blanchissage s’étendent jusqu'au douves extérieurs.

Unité et simplicité

Les béguines possèdent leur propre maison. Les béguines moins riches vivent ensemble dans des couvents et des infirmeries. Cette organisation sociale détermine fortement le paysage urbain que nous voyons aujourd'hui: à savoir une cour centrale non-bâtie entourée de maisons spacieuses peintes en blanc. La plupart date du XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècle. Certaines possèdent encore des éléments de construction plus anciennes. Toutes possèdent un jardin clos.

L'église du béguinage, dont les constructions les plus anciennes remontent à 1245, a été restaurée après l'incendie de 1584.

Le décor intérieur date principalement du XVIIe et XVIIIe siècle.

La porte principale de 1776 relie le béguinage avec la ville par le pont du Béguinage. Dans la niche au-dessus du porche se trouve une statue de la Sainte Elisabeth de Hongrie, patronne du béguinage de Bruges. Lorsque l’Hôpital Minnewater fût bâti vers 1890 sur une grande partie du terrain du béguinage, l'architecte Louis Delacenserie a reconstruit les murs du béguigage et aménagé la deuxième porte d'entrée près de écluse du Minnewater. En 1937, la maison de la Grande Dame et quelques maisons sont transformées en monastère.

Unique en matière d'urbanisme

Les béguinages sont des entités d'urbanisme importantes dans le tissu urbain. Généralement ils forment un ensemble architectural et urbain très homogène avec des maisons, une église, une infirmerie et parfois aussi une boulangerie, une ferme et une brasserie. Murs et canaux les séparent du ‘monde extérieur’. Les bâtiments résidentiels sont disposés le long d'une place centrale verte ou le long de rues

Cour avec église du béguinage © Brugge Foundation Brugge

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

  • Le béguinage de Bruges porte le nom De Wijngaard (Le vignoble). Le terrain sur lequel s’installait le béguinage était connu sous le nom de ‘Vinea supra Roiam’ (vignoble longeant la rivière Reie). S'il y ait eu des vignobles ici reste une question ouverte. Le mot Vinea signifie peut-être tout simplement une zone basse et marécageuse.
  • La citation Sauve Garde, au-dessus de l'entrée principale faisait référence à la haute protection des comtesses de Flandre. Elle signifie aussi que toutes celles qui veulent échapper à la juridiction des autorités locales peuvent demander la protection au béguinage.
  • Au fil des siècles, la superficie du béguinage a été réduite, notamment à la fin du XIXe siècle en raison de la construction de l’Hôpital Minnewater. Le béguinage compte aujourd'hui une superficie de 3,37 ha et est encore entièrement muré ou bordé de canaux.

ECRIN DE VERDURE & LIEU DE BIODIVERSITE

Contrairement aux jardins de monastères, la cour du béguinage est ouverte au public pendant la journée. Les portes du béguinage se ferment entre le coucher et le lever du soleil. L'actuel prieuré Bénédictine et les maisons disposent d'un jardin privé qui peut se composer de plusieurs chambres: un jardin d'ornement, un potager, un verger, et un jardin de cloitre.

Les bâtiments historiques, les zones ouvertes, les murs de jardin, les plantations précieuses et les arbres constituent un paysage patrimonial exceptionnel et précieux. L'origine des arbres remonte au XVIIe siècle, les cartes du béguinage nous montrent déjà une place boisée. Un vieux pavement encadre le carré vert central, bordé d'arbres tel que le peuplier du Canada (Populus x canadensis), le frêne commun (Fraxinus) et le tilleul (Tilia). Au printemps, les jonquilles et les orchidées se développent dans la couche d'herbe sous les arbres.

En termes de biodiversité , la cour centrale est d'une valeur exceptionnelle en raison de la présence de ces orchidées sauvages. Un certain nombre d'espèces végétales figurent sur la liste flamande des plantes menacées d'extinction. Certaines espèces sont même protégées par la loi.

Enfin, les canaux ont une valeur patrimoniale historique. Ils jouent un rôle de clôture naturelle, mais ils servent aussi d’abreuvoir au bétail et de zone de lavage des lins. Les anciennes prairies de blanchissement ont largement influencé l'image des jardins de nos jours.

L'helléborine commune est l'une des espèces d'orchidées sauvages présentes dans le béguinage.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

  • La superficie totale des espaces verts du béguinage est d’environ 2,2 ha.
  • En 1918, la cour boisée centrale a été gravement endommagée par une bombe qui y a laissé un cratère. En 1928, il a été nécessaire de planter de nouveaux arbres à cause de la graphiose de l'orme.
  • Certaines plantes ont de jolis noms locaux tels que ‘les amoureux’ (Lonicera japonica), ‘les filles honteuses bleues’ (Borago officinalis) ou ‘bonheur de chambre’ (Soleirolia soleirolii).
  • En 1931, la pépinière Frederik Sander & Fils de Sint-Andries-Bruges a fait don au béguinage des jonquilles de Pâques qui ornent désormais la cour centrale au printemps.

LA SAUVEGARDE DU 20E SIECLE

Après la Révolution française de 1789, les biens du béguinage De Wijngaard sont confisqués et transférés à la Commission des Hospices Civils (l'actuel CPAS). Les béguines sont autorisées à habiter leurs maisons, mais elles ne peuvent pas accepter de nouvelles novices. En 1803, elles sont autorisés à utiliser à nouveau l'église et en 1804, elles peuvent porter à nouveau leur habit.

Cependant, il s'avère impossible de restaurer la gloire passée du béguinage. En 1881, le Comité des Hospices Civils décide d'établir un nouvel hôpital, l’ Hôpital Minnewater, sur un important terrain du béguinage.

Pastoor Hoornaert

En 1922, il ne reste plus que cinq béguines dans le béguinage fort délabré. Cette année-là, le chanoine Rodolphe Hoornaert (1886-1969) est nommé curé du béguinage. Il veut sauver le béguinage d’une détérioration totale. Il veut avant tout faire revivre la vie pieuse des béguines.

En août 1925, afin de recueillir le montant maximum d’argent et de sponsors pour financer la restauration, Hoornaert organise d’importantes festivités pour célébrer le sept centième anniversaire de la fondation du béguinage.

Cependant, Hoornaert se rend compte qu'il ne réussit pas à relancer le mouvement des béguines. C'est pourquoi il fonde une nouvelle congrégation avec le soutien très actif de la dernière Grande Dame et de l'abbaye Bénédictine de Saint-Andries à Brugge. En 1927, les filles de Saint-Benoît de Nîmes fusionnent avec les béguines de Bruges et, en tant que nouvelle congrégation, adoptent à l’unanimité la Règle de Saint-Benoît. La dernière Grande Dame Geneviève de Limon Triest (1874-1971) devient la première prieure de la congrégation qui se fait nommer Filles de l'Église. Afin de maintenir la tradition des béguines, les religieuses choisissent de porter leur habit. Malgré les difficultés de croissance, la nouvelle congrégation attire de nombreuses vocations internationaux, e.a. en France, Irlande et Écosse et plus tard en Suisse, Hongrie, Norvège et aux Pays-Bas. La transformation de quelques maisons de béguines en monastère et la construction d'un nouveau bâtiment monastique est basée sur les plans des architectes brugeois Jos et Luc Viérin. La campagne de construction s'est déroulée entre 1926 et 1937, dans une architecture locale très similaire au reste des bâtiments du Béguinage.

100 ans

Aujourd'hui, après près de cent ans, le nombre de moniales dans le monastère diminue et la survie de la présence religieuse est pénible. Des femmes célibataires vivent dans la trentaine de maisons autour du monastère.

Malgré le grand nombre de visiteurs, on peut observer que l'esprit du lieu est empreint de silence, de modestie et de tranquillité.

Depuis 1972 le site est propriété de la ville de Bruges. Depuis cette date, la Ville est responsable de la préservation et de la gestion du patrimoine immobilier et a lancé des campagnes de restauration successives. Les sœurs Bénédictines reçoivent un bail emphytéotique et sont responsables de la gestion quotidienne et de la location des maisons. Ce bail foncier courait jusqu'en 2035, mais devenant trop complexe pour les sœurs, est transféré à la ville en 2020. Toutes les facettes de la gestion du site sont désormais la responsabilité de la ville de Bruges.

Les quatre dernières sœurs bénédictines du prieuré De Wijngaard, été 2021 © Fondation Brugge Brugge

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

  • En 1940, il y a trente religieuses dans le béguinage. En 2024, il en reste que quatre, toutes des sœurs d'origine suisse.
  • Une trentaine de femmes célibataires vivent dans les maisons autour de l'église et du couvent.
  • Contrairement aux normes antérieures de nos jours une maison du béguinage est habité par un prêtre.

UN PATRIMONIAL EXCEPTIONNEL AUX VALEURS HISTORIQUES, CULTURELLES ET IMMATERIELLES

Sept fois protégé

Depuis 1939, le béguinage princier De Wijngaard est protégé sept fois en tant que monument historique et paysage urbain d’exception. La double protection en tant que site inscrit au Patrimoine Mondial de l'UNESCO prouve sa valeur universelle (Béguinages flamands le 2 décembre 1998 - Centre-ville de Bruges le 30 novembre 2000)

POURQUOI LE BEGUINAGE DE BRUGES EST-IL UNIQUE ?

Le béguinage est un enclos bien préservé, doté d’un caractère urbain distinct dans un style architectural typique et local, groupant des bâtiments historiques tel que le monastère, les maisons de béguines et l'église. C'est aussi un écrin de verdure exceptionnel avec un biotope unique.

Le béguinage témoigne de 800 ans de tradition en tant que ‘ville de femmes’. Ici vivait une communauté de béguines : des femmes indépendantes et religieuses qui alliaient vie active et spiritualité. Aujourd'hui encore, c'est une ville de femmes. À l'exception du curé, seules des femmes vivent ici. Et dans la tradition des béguines, les femmes et sœurs vivent dans l'objectif d'assurer l'entraide et la solidarité, et dans le respect de l’esprit du lieu.

Le patrimoine religieux et culturel, la signification et les traditions constituent un lieu d'inspiration et de recueillement pour les penseurs, les écrivains, les artistes et les visiteurs.

C'est un havre de paix et de silence exceptionnel dans cette ville animée.

MENACES ET DEFIS

L'esprit du lieu est sous pression.

L'incertitude quant à une présence religieuse durable est réelle. La présence de religieuses détermine dans une large mesure le caractère tranquille et silencieux du site. L’éventuelle perte de la présence religieuse augmentera également la pression sur la ‘ville des femmes’ en tant que phénomène socioculturel.

Le tourisme de masse entraîne une détérioration croissante de l'esprit du lieu : le calme et le silence sont sous pression, et les dégâts au biotope vert sont manifestes.

La préservation du site en tant que ’ville de femmes’ juridique, culturelle et sociale et de ses traditions représente un défi pour la communauté locale et ses politiciens.

Sauve Garde

La sauvegarde du béguinage, patrimoine historique et écrin de verdure, nécessite des soins et efforts continus de la part du conseil municipal.

En plus de la préservation matérielle du site, et après une vaste enquête auprès des Brugeois, des habitants du béguinage et de divers acteurs locaux, le conseil municipal s'engage à protéger soigneusement l’esprit du lieu et les valeurs immatérielles du béguinage :

  • la tradition de 800 ans d’habitation par une communauté de femmes
  • le lieu de silence et de quiétude avec son propre rythme
  • la bienveillance et la solidarité mutuelle des habitants
  • la tradition d’entrepreneuriat féminin dans l’artisanat textile
  • la religion et la spiritualité, les traditions, les rituels et la musique

Le conseil municipal souhaite définir les lignes directrices pour la gestion et le développement futur du béguinage dans un plan directeur.

Le slogan historique SAUVE GARDE est aujourd'hui le symbole de toutes les inquiétudes et aspirations concernant un futur significatif de cet endroit inscrit au Patrimoine Mondial de l'UNESCO.

BEGUINAGE 1

Begijnhof 1 est une maison de béguine typique du XVIIe siècle. En 1937-1939, elle est transformée en musée de la vie des béguines. Un jardin pittoresque entouré d’un cloître est construits à cette époque. Actuellement désaffecté, le but de Brugge Fondation est de réactiver se lieu de mémoire.

 

Brugge Foundation

En ouvrant cette cour comme jardin d’exposition, la fondation privé Brugge Fondation souligne l’histoire, l’importance et les valeurs matérielles et immatérielles exceptionnelles de ce béguinage.

L'objectif de cette exposition est d'expliquer 'l'esprit du lieu' dans ses aspects matériels et immatériels. De cette manière, Brugge Fondation contribue à une expérience plus intense et plus compréhensive du béguinage.

Brugge Fondation est pleinement consciente de l'importance d'un avenir significatif pour ce site et y apporte sa contribution active.

Don par virement bancaire

Faites un don à la Fondation des Amis de Bruges via la Fondation Roi Baudouin.

Stort uw bedrag op rekening BE10 0000 0000 0404 (KBS) met de mededeling +++016/1760/00005+++  of scan de onderstaande QR code rechtstreeks in uw bankapp (niet via uw camera!).

Don via PayConiq

Vous préférez payer directement en ligne ? Déposez votre don via l'application PayConiq !

Scannez le code QR ci-dessous via l'application PayConiq.

Payment via PayConiq can be arranged via KBS to ensure the correct and secure treatment.
 

Grâce à votre soutien financier, la Fondation Brugge peut chérir et protéger davantage le patrimoine brugeois et lui donner un nouvel avenir. Grâce à la Fondation des Amis de Bruges, vous pouvez donner en ligne via la Fondation Roi Baudouin.

Tout don d'au moins 40 € vous donne droit à une réduction d'impôt de 45%

Suivez les étapes indiquées sur les pages de dons et obtenez votre attestation fiscale.